Da porta do herói Martim Moniz até à Rua e à Praça

Martim Moniz placa

Freguesia de Santa Maria Maior – Placa Tipo IV – (Foto: Artur Matos)

A tradição conta-nos que Martim Moniz era um dos cavaleiros de D. Afonso Henriques que em 1147, na conquista de Lisboa, se atravessou numa porta da muralha do Castelo dos Mouros, impedindo o seu fecho e, sendo de imediato morto pelos sitiados garantiu mesmo assim a abertura necessária para a entrada dos exércitos cristãos conquistarem a cidade.

Em 1908 o herói Martim Moniz ganhou uma placa evocativa na porta do seu sacrifício e, em 1915, ficou também imortalizado na toponímia da Mouraria já que a Rua de São Vicente à Guia – que se situava entre a Rua da Mouraria, Rua do Arco do Marquês de Alegrete e a Calçada do Jogo da Pela – se passou a denominar Rua Martim Moniz, pelo Edital de 14 de Outubro de 1915. Contudo, as alterações urbanísticas do local iniciadas a partir da década de 30, a pretexto de ligar a Avenida Almirante Reis ao Rossio, acabaram por fazer desaparecer o Mercado da Figueira, parte da Mouraria e o arruamento.

Na década de 90 do século XX, a edilidade lisboeta procurando preservar a toponímia mais histórica e tradicional da zona, ao arruamento já conhecido vulgarmente por Largo do Martim Moniz – situado entre a Rua da Palma e a Rua do Arco do Marquês de Alegrete- atribuiu o topónimo Rua Martim Moniz, por Edital de 30 de Abril de 1991.

Passados 6 anos e concluída a recuperação urbana desta zona levada a cabo pela Câmara Municipal de Lisboa, determinou esta que o espaço delimitado pela Rua da Senhora da Saúde, Rua Fernandes da Fonseca, Rua da Palma e Rua do Arco do Marquês de Alegrete, onde se situava também a Rua Martim Moniz se passasse a denominar Praça Martim Moniz (Edital de 15/12/1997). Esta Praça foi criada como um novo espaço urbano em que a água e a alusão à conquista de Lisboa pelo primeiro Rei de Portugal se entrelaçam e dominam toda a área.

No mesmo ano, o Metropolitano de Lisboa também iniciou a recuperação arquitetónica e artística da sua estação local mudando também o nome de Socorro para Martim Moniz.

Martim Moniz

Freguesia de Santa Maria Maior  (Foto: Artur Matos)

3 thoughts on “Da porta do herói Martim Moniz até à Rua e à Praça

  1. Pingback: Novembro: As Ruas dos Cinemas de Lisboa – a partir de amanhã | Toponímia de Lisboa

  2. I’ve been surfing online more than 2 hours today,
    yet I never found any interesting article like yours. It’s pretty worth enough for me.
    Personally, if all web owners and bloggers made good content as you did, tthe internet
    will be a lot more useful than ever before.|
    I couldn’t refrain from commenting. Exceptionally well written!|
    I will immediately seize your rss feed as I can not to find your email subscription hyperlink
    or e-newsletter service. Do you’ve any? Kindly allow me recognize so that I coul subscribe.
    Thanks.|
    It’s the best time to make some plans forr the future
    and it’s tkme to be happy. I have read this post and
    if I could I wish to suggest you few interesting things or advice.

    Perhaps you can rite next articles referring to this article.
    I wish to read even more things about it!|
    It is appropriate time to make some plans for the long run and it is
    time to be happy. I’ve learn this put up and if I may just I desire to counsel you few attention-grabbing issues
    or tips. Perhaps you could write subsequent articles regarding this article.

    I desire to learn even more issues approximately
    it!|
    I’ve been browsing on-line greater than three hours thes days, yyet I never found any interesting article like yours.
    It’s beautiful value sufficient for me. In my view, if
    all web owners and bloggers made just right content as you probably did, the
    web shall be much more helpful than ever before.|
    Ahaa, its pleasant conversationn concerning thius article here at this weblog, I haqve read all that, soo at this
    time me also commenting here.|
    I am sure tis post has touched all the internet viewers,
    its really really goood post on building up new webpage.|
    Wow, this paragraph is good, my younger sister is analyzing
    such things, therefore I am going to let know her.|
    Saved aas a favorite, I really like your website!|
    Way cool! Some very valid points! I appreciate you writing this write-up and also the rest
    of the website is really good.|
    Hi, I do belive this is a great blog. I stumbledupon it 😉 I may return yyet again since i have book-marked it.

    Money and freedom is the best way to change, may you be rich and continue
    to help other people.|
    Woah! I’m really loving the template/theme of this site.

    It’s simple, yet effective. A lot of times it’s challenging tto get that “perfect balance”
    between usability and visual appeal. I must saay that you’ve done
    a amazing job with this. Additionally, the blog loads
    sujper fast for me on Internet explorer. Excellent Blog!|
    These are actuially fantastic ideas iin about blogging.
    You have touched some good things here. Any way keesp up wrinting.|
    I ebjoy what you guys are usually up too. This kind of clever work and reporting!
    Keep up the good works guys I’ve included you guys to my
    own blogroll.|
    Hello! Someone in my Facebook group shared this website with us so I came to give it a look.
    I’m definitely loving the information. I’m bookmarking andd
    will be tweeting this to my followers! Outstanding blog and great design and style.|
    I love what you guys aree usually up too. This tyoe
    of clever work and exposure! Keep upp the awesome works gguys I’ve incorporated you guys
    to my blogroll.|
    Hi there would you mind stating which blopg platform you’re
    using? I’m ggoing to start my own blog soon but I’m having a tough time selecting between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and
    Drupal. The reason I ask is because your design and style
    seems different then most blogs and I’m looking for something unique.

    P.S My apologies for getting off-topic but I had to ask!|
    Hi would you mind letting me know which webhost you’re working with?
    I’ve loaded you blog in 3 different web browsers and I myst say this blog looads a lot quicker then most.
    Can you suggest a good web hosting provider at a faiir price?
    Thanks, I appreciate it!|
    I love it whenever people get together and share
    views. Greatt blog, keep it up!|
    Thank you for the auspicious writeup. It in facht was a amusement accouunt it.

    Look advanced to far added agreeable from you!
    By thhe way, how could we communicate?|
    Hey just wanted to give you a quick heads
    up. The text in your content seem to be running off the screen inn Chrome.
    I’m not sure if this is a format issue or something to do with internet browser compatibiliity but I fiigured I’d post tto let yoou know.
    The design and style look great though! Hope you get the issue resolved
    soon. Many thanks|
    This is a topoic that’s close too my heart… Cheers! Where
    are your contact details though?|
    It’s very straightforward tto find out any matter on net as compared too
    textbooks, as I found this paragraph at thiks website.|
    Does your site have a contact page? I’m having a
    togh time locating it but, I’d like to send you an email.
    I’ve got some suggestions for your blog you might be interested in hearing.Either way,
    great blog and I look forward too seeing it expand over
    time.|
    Hey there! I’ve been following your web site for soome time now and finally got the bravery tto go ahead
    and give you a shout out from Portger Tx!

    Just wanted to say keep up the good work!|
    Greetinggs from Carolina! I’m bored to death aat wor so I decided to bbrowse your blog on my iphone
    during lunch break. I love the knowledge you provide here and can’t
    wait to take a look when I get home. I’m amazed at how fast your blog
    loaded onn my cell phone .. I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G ..
    Anyways, very good site!|
    Its like you read my thoughts! You seem to understand
    a llot approximately this, such as you wwrote the ebook in it or something.
    I believe that you simply could do with a few p.c.
    to drive the message home a bit, however instead of that, this is
    wonderful blog. A fantastic read. I’ll definitely be back.|
    I visiited multiple websites however the aujdio feature for audio songs current at this site is in fact excellent.|
    Hi there, i read your blog occasionally and i own a similar one and
    i was just wonderin if you get a lot of spam remarks? If
    so how do you protect against it, any plugin or anything you
    can advise? I get so much lately it’s driving me insane so any assistance is very muh appreciated.|
    Greetings! Very useful advice in thios particular post! It’s the little changes
    that make the greatest changes. Many thanks for sharing!|
    I seriously lve your website.. Very nice colors & theme. Didd
    you develop this web site yourself? Please reply back
    as I’m wanting to create my very own website and would like to find
    out wherde you got this from or what tthe theme
    is called. Thank you!|
    Hello there! Thiis article could not be written any better!
    Looking at this article reminds me of my previous roommate!
    He constantly kept talking about this. I most crtainly
    wikl forward this post to him. Fairly certain he’ll
    have a good read. Thanks for sharing!|
    Wow! This blog looks just like my old one! It’s on a totally different topic but itt has
    pretty much thee same page layout aand design. Excellent choice oof colors!|
    There’s certainly a great deal to learn about this
    issue. I really like all of the points you have made.|
    You have maxe some decent points there. I checked on the internet
    to find out more about the issue and found most people will
    go along wirh your views on this website.|
    Hi there, I log on to your neew stuff daily.
    Your story-telling style is awesome, keep up the gookd work!|
    I imply couldn’t depardt your web site before suggesting that I actually enjoyed the
    standard information a person supply for your guests?
    Is going to be again ceaselessly in order to check out new posts|
    I need to to thank yyou for this wonderful read!! I definitely loved every bit of it.
    I have you book marked to check out new stuff you post…|
    Hello, just wanted to mention, I loved this blog post.

    It was helpful. Keep on posting!|
    Hello, I enjoy reading all of your article. I wanted to write a little comment to support you.|
    I alwways spent my half an hour to read this blog’s content daily alonng with a mug of coffee.|
    I always emailed this webvlog post page to all my friends, for the reason that
    if like to read it afterward my contacts will too.|
    My coder is trying to convince me to move to .net from PHP.
    I have always disliked the idea because of the costs.
    But he’s tryiong none the less. I’ve been usinhg WordPress on several websites for about a
    year and am anxious about switching tto another platform. I
    hae heard great things about blogengine.net. Is there a way I can transfer alll my wordrpress posts into it?
    Any kind of help would be really appreciated!|
    Hi! I could have sworn I’ve been to this site before but after looking at a few oof the posts I realized it’s new to me.
    Anyhow, I’m definitey delighted I discovered it andd I’ll be book-marking it and checking back regularly!|
    Terrific work! That is the kind oof information that are supposed too be sharfed across thhe
    internet. Shame on the seek engines for noww not positioning thhis submit upper!
    Come on over aand seek advice from my site . Thanks =)|
    Heya i am for the first time here. I found this board and I find
    It really useful & it helped mee ouut a lot. I hope to
    give something back and help others like you aidded me.|
    Howdy, I do elieve your blog might be having web browser compatibility issues.
    When I take a look at your website in Safari, it
    looks fine however when opening in I.E., it’s got some overlapping issues.
    I siomply wanted to give you a quick heads up! Besides that, fantastic site!|
    Someone essentially assist too make significantly posts I mighbt state.

    This is the very first time I frequented your web
    page and so far? I surprised with thhe analysis yyou made to create this particular post extraordinary.
    Great task!|
    Heya i am for the first time here. I found thos board and I
    to find It truly helpful & iit helped mee out much. I am hoping to
    provide one thing back and aid others such ass you helped me.|
    Hey there! I simply want to offer you a big thumnbs up for the great info you
    have right here on this post. I will be coming back to your web site
    for more soon.|
    I everry time used to study paragraph in news papefs but now as I am a user of internet so from now I am using neet for articles or reviews, thanks to web.|
    Your mode off explainng all iin this piece of writing is actually fastidious,
    alll be able to without difficulty know it, Thanks a lot.|
    Hi there, I found your site by way of Google while searching for a related subject, your web site goot here up, itt looks
    good. I have bookmarked it in my google bookmarks.
    Hi there, simply was alert to your blog via Google, and located that it’s tuly
    informative. I’m going to be careful for brussels.I’ll appreciate in the event you continue this in future.
    Numerous folks can be benefited from your writing. Cheers!|
    I am curious to find out what blog platform you aree working with?
    I’m experiencing some small security problems with
    my latest webste and I would like to find sopmething more risk-free.
    Do you have any recommendations?|
    I aam really impressed with your writing skills and also with the layout oon your
    blog. Is this a paid theme or did you customize it yourself?
    Anyway keep up the niche quality writing, it’s rare tto see a ice blog like
    this one nowadays.|
    I’m really impreszed with your writing abilities as smartly as with the layout to
    yolur blog. Is that this a paid subjct or did youu customize
    it your self? Anyway stay up the excellent quality writing, it’s rare to
    peer a great weblog like this one nowadays..|
    Hello, Neat post. There’s an issue with your website in internet explorer,
    could test this? IE nonetheless is the market chief and a lrge section of other folks will leave
    out your great writing duue to this problem.|
    I am nott sure where you’re getting our info, but great topic.
    I needs to spend some time learning much more or understanding more.
    Thanks for excellent info I was looking for this inmfo for my
    mission.|
    Hello, i thinkk that i saw you visited my weblog thus i came to “return the favor”.I’m
    attempting to find things to improve my
    site!I suppose itss okk to use some of your idea\

    Gostar

  3. Pingback: Ruas com Arcos | Toponímia de Lisboa

Deixe uma Resposta

